Cars which are members of a fleet are able to receive bookings from operators via the dispatch software. This page describes the general process involved in receiving and servicing a booking within a car.
Receiving a Booking
For a car to be offered booked jobs, a number of conditions must be met:
- The driver must be logged in
- The car must be vacant
- The driver must not be marked as unavailable; and
- The car must be registered for cover jobs
Registering for Cover Jobs
To receive bookings, the car must first be registered to receive appropriate jobs. This is done through the Cover Registration screen.
The cover registration process selects the general features of jobs that the car can accommodate. Cover job settings are stored in between shifts, and are automatically applied each time a driver logs in. It is a good idea to check them on login, however, especially if the Android handset is shared between drivers, to ensure that acceptable jobs are dispatched to the car.
Accepting and Declining Offered Jobs
When a job is offered to a car, the Android app automatically displays the job acceptance screen (see below) and plays a tone as the offer counts down.
<Screenshot goes here>
While the job offer screen is displayed, the driver has two options to select from:
- Press the accept button to accept the offer and service the booking; or
- Press the reject button to reject the offer.
If neither action is chosen before the end of the countdown period, the job is automatically rejected.
Rejected Jobs and Penalties
Depending on the fleet configuration, rejection of a job may result in a driver “penalty”. While under a penalty, no jobs will be offered to the car. The car may continue to serve hail jobs while the penalty is in effect.
Servicing a Job
When a job is accepted, the App changes to the Job Details view, and shows the pickup and destination addresses for the job. From the time of acceptance, the booking is allocated to the car, which should proceed to the first pickup location. The general process in servicing a job is:
- While a booking is active, but before the car is “engaged”, the system menu will display the “Booked” icon. Travel to the first pickup location and follow any required contact instructions.
- When the first pickup is made, the car should move to the engaged state by pressing the engaged button on the Job Details screen, or in the system menu.
- After all passengers have been delivered, the car should move to vacant state again by pressing the vacant button on the Job Details screen, or in the system menu. This will trigger the payment of a fare and completion of the job.
Refusing an Accepted Job
If a job offer is accepted, it may still be rejected for one of two reasons:
- If the passenger is unable to be found (a “No-Show”), the job may be cancelled completely using the “No-Show” button on the Job Details screen.
- The job may be resubmitted for offer to another car with a selected reason using the resubmit button on the Job Details screen.
Resubmission requires the driver to select one of a pre-defined set of reasons for rejecting the job.